The “Someday Argument”

I was home less than 15 minutes before I was shopping. And I didn’t even realize it.

Kevin and I went out to dinner and when we got home I multi-tasked watching Goodfellas with checking my email. I had an email from Lululemon about their new line of “Vacation Wear”. I never open email advertisements, but today I did. Before I knew it I was checking on the availability of my size in my local stores. Nowhere in my area had stock and I sighed to Kevin something along the lines of “Ugh, I don’t know my exact size in this and they are out of the 4s in black online.” Half shrugging Kev replies “Yeah, but you weren’t going to buy it anyway right?” And that’s when I realized I was shopping. And that I was willing to spend 98$ on a pair of paddle boarding tights.

I don’t paddle board.

I started into this whole story with Kevin about my long time goal of deep water soloing (background information: Kevin and I are rock climbers) and how I need them for an imaginary trip we may take to Spain this year. Kevin called me on my bullshit and I closed the tab.

I’ve noticed that it’s a common game I play with myself: The “Someday Argument”. I create a list of all the times I maybe, someday, some way will need something. Some of those arguments are founded, typically they are not. From now on I have a new rule: No pros/cons lists. I know exactly how to warp them into a purchase and there’s a difference between what I need and what I can convince myself I need.

Leave a Reply

