Day 6: The Last Package Arrived

Shopping didn’t weigh on my mind today until a package arrived. Like any good addict, I had spent the final days before my month-long shopping hiatus indulging in any way I could. The last way I reinforced my bad habits, a sterling silver bracelet from Silpada, arrived today.

It’s my last “gift to me” for several weeks. I’m trying to pretend that it didn’t stir emotions in me, but I did feel a pang of sadness opening the last package.

I’m spending my time focusing on the more important things in life. Spending less money on myself and things has given me the opportunity to spend on Kevin and myself, and our lives together. I’m able to contribute to more financial obligations (groceries, cat things, etc) which gives us both more flexibility for the fun things (movies, dinners out, etc). Without shopping as my go-to past time I’ve been diving into revamping our apartment. The addition of new furniture pieces, mixed with my new motivation to tidy and organize has made our little apartment feel more and more like our’s.

If you don’t know Kevin and I live in an apartment that is attached to a larger house. We live rent free which is a blessing and a curse. A blessing for the obvious reasons, and a curse because we don’t have any ownership over our own space. We are at the mercy of someone else 24/7 because we don’t have a financial stake in our space. This is the reason I have been so hesitant to place roots here, however, with Kevin’s current one-year contract with the National Institute of Health it makes sense for us to establish ourselves as a family in our home.

 

 

Leave a Reply

