A Shopaholic’s Month Without Shopping: Recap & Review

So maybe I missed a few of the last would-be posts. March was busy, especially toward the end of the month. Days 23-31 were a bit of a blur, my sister visited, Kevin bought an N64 and together we explored all the nooks and cranny of vintage game hunting, among other things and as my month was winding down so was my fortitude for the month project. I definitely was back to shopping by the last week, however, it was importantly different that how it normally is.

I was much less impulsive, I walked away from things much easier, and as much as I was shopping I wasn’t buying. At the conclusion of this project, I feel I lost the rush of shopping, and maybe the sense of urgency as well. I no longer get that “the world is ending” feeling if I cannot find exactly what I’m looking for. I also do not force myself into purchases. It sounds a little beyond belief now, but I would often feel like even if something didn’t actually fit me, or wasn’t 100 percent my style that it was better to have that thing then let it go.

I was much less impulsive, I walked away from things much easier, and as much as I was shopping I wasn’t buying.

Going into April I wanted to come up with a good month long project to follow my month without shopping, but still haven’t come up with anything yet. Of course, I will keep you all posted.

Leave a Reply

