Day 5: Starting Small at the Mall

Today Kevin, myself, and two of our friends went down to the Tidal Basin to explore the cherry blossoms that always bloom around this time of year. With the random heat waves, followed by frost, we weren’t too optimistic about how the blossoms would look. They were a little pitiful, but we, Washingtonians, have been told that the blossoms are not in peak bloom yet. Whether this is true or just a DC marketing ploy to get people to still come look at our bare trees, I’m not sure.

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 1.15.48 PM
According to Washington.org

We saw a few blossoms, but none of the beautiful pink fluffy tuffs I’m used to. Personally, I wouldn’t go back. The highlight for me, like on every trip, was the food. We stopped by a hot dog cart and go so many pretzels and half-smokes that I immediately reached peak happiness.

The rest of the evening was wrapped up with a little grocery shopping and a steak dinner that my amazing friends made for Kevin and me. We were back home around 8 and thoroughly exhausted – but that didn’t stop us from watching 10 Cloverfield Lane and staying up past 1am.

Leave a Reply

